The Suding Lab

Get in touch

 
 
 

Please don’t hesitate to contact us — to ask a question, to get involved, or to partner.

 

 
IMG_1466.jpg

Laurel Brigham

PhD student (BS, UC San Diego).

Research Interests: Species distribution shifts, plant-microbial interactions, climate change, shrub facilitation of subalpine plants. Publications

Laurel.Brigham@colorado.edu

Cliff.jpg

Cliff Bueno de Mesquita

Postdoctoral Fellow (BA, Middlebury College; PhD, CU Boulder). Co-advised by Steve Schmidt.

Research Interests: Plant-microbial interactions, climate change, distribution shifts, biogeochemistry Website Publications

cliff.buenodemesquita@colorado.edu

courtney collins.jpg

Courtney Collins

Postdoctoral Fellow (BS, University of Florida; MS, University of Georgia; PhD UC Riverside). Co-advised by Sarah Elmendorf.

Research Interests: alpine ecology, global change biology, plant-soil interactions, plant species range shifts, soil microbial ecology. Website Publications

Nihan Harman

MS Student (Turkish scholarship MoNE, MS Ankara University)

Research interests: Restoration of arid lands, sustainability, landscape ecology

 
Julie Larson.jpg

Julie Larson

PhD Student (MS, Oregon State, BS University of Michigan)

Research Interests: Functional ecology, invasion/restoration, seed and seedling ecology, drought and grazing. Website Publications

julie.e.larson@colorado.edu

Tom Merchant

PhD Student (BA Brown University)

Research interests: plant community, ecosystem ecology, and global change, plant-microbial interactions, data science

isabel.jpg

Isabel Schroeter

PhD Student (NSF Predoctoral Fellow; BS, UC Berkeley)

Research Interests: Riparian restoration, ecophysiology, climate change, citizen science.

isabel.schroeter@colorado.edu

Nancy_Shackelford.jpg

Nancy Shackelford

Postdoctoral Fellow (PhD, University of Victoria; MS, Western Australia University; BS, University of Texas)

Research Interests: Ecological resilience, thresholds, restoration ecology. Website Publications

nancy.shackelford@colorado.edu

janesmith.jpg

Jane G. Smith

Research Associate (PhD, New Mexico State; BA/BS, CU Boulder)

Research Interests: Botany, alpine flora, ecosystem ecology, soil organic carbon and carbon cycling.

jane.g.smith@colorado.edu

AppleTrees1.jpg

Katharine Suding

Professor (PhD, University of Michigan; BA, Williams College), Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Fellow, Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research.

S254a SEEC (east campus), C296 RAMY (main campus)

suding@colorado.edu

ashleyreleasingpika.jpg

Ashley Whipple

MS Student (BS, Colorado State University). Co-advised by Chris Ray.

Research interests: Population ecology, Pika conservation, landscape ecology, conservation science, climate change, citizen science.

Ashley.Whipple@colorado.edu

caitlincounting2.jpg

Caitlin White

PhD Student (MS, MPA, Indiana University; BA, UC San Diego)

Research Interests: Rangelands, invasion, drought, data science, analyses of long-term monitoring data

caitlin.t.white@colorado.edu


4000 Discovery Drive, Boulder CO 80309-0450